Nadje Noordhuis

Image 1 of 5

Tunes by Nadje Noordhuis

  • Big Footprint
    Ballad · 2000-2010 · Medium · Instrumental · Bb · 4/4
  • Le Hameau Omi
    Latin · 2000-2010 · Medium · Instrumental · G · 4/4
  • Mayfair
    Straight · 2010-2020 · Medium · Instrumental · D · 4/4


Described as "one of the most compelling voices to emerge on her instrument in recent years" (Dan Bilawksy, All about Jazz), Australian-born based trumpeter/composer Nadje Noordhuis possesses one of the most unforgettably lyrical voices in modern music. Her deeply-felt, clarion tone and evocative compositional gift meld classical rigor, jazz expression, and world music accents into a sound that is distinctively her own.

Noordhuis was one of ten semi-finalists in the 2007 Thelonious Monk International Jazz Trumpet Competition and was selected as a Carnegie Hall Young Artist in 2012. Based in New York since 2003, she is a member of the multiple Grammy-winning Maria Schneider Orchestra, Grammy-nominated Darcy James Argue's Secret Society, and the Anat Cohen Tentet. She has three albums of original compositions on her record label, Little Mystery Records.

Her new genre-bending quintet with Maeve Gilchrist (celtic harp), Jesse Lewis (electric guitar), Ike Sturm (electric bass), and James Shipp (synthesizers, percussion) coolly blends acoustic and electric instruments, seamlessly weaving her melodious compositions with threads of improvisation. Featuring her pure toned trumpet with electronic effects, this group will release its debut album as a vinyl-only release on Newvelle Records in 2019, which was recorded live in Switzerland.

Nadje Noordhuis Discography 2019

Nadje Noordhuis

Label: Newvelle Records

Release Date: April 2019

Vinyl available:

Nadje Noordhuis + James Shipp: Indigo

Label: Little Mystery Records

Release Date: Oct 31, 2017

CD, digital available:

Digital only:

Luke Howard and Nadje Noordhuis:Ten Sails

Label: Lukktone/Little Mystery Records

Release Date: March 29, 2015

CD, digital & vinyl available:

Nadje Noordhuis: Nadje Noordhuis

Label: Little Mystery Records

Release Date: October 9, 2012

CD, digital available:

Digital only: